Briggs elected chair of Indiana Bankers

Clay W. Ewing (left) hands off the leadership gavel to Andrew J. Briggs, 2019 chairman of the Indiana Bankers Association, on Sunday, September 9, 2018, in French Lick, Indiana. Briggs was confirmed as the IBA’s upcoming chairman at the Indiana Bankers Association Annual Convention at French Lick Resort.

Andrew J. Briggs has been elected 2019 chairman of the board of directors of the Indiana Bankers Association. Currently president and CEO of the Bank of Geneva, his term begins Jan. 1, 2019.

Briggs represents the fifth generation of his family to serve as president of Bank of Geneva, following in the footsteps of his great-great-grandfather James Day, great-grandfather Andrew G. Briggs, grandfather James D. Briggs Sr. and father James D. Briggs Jr. He has more than 40 years of banking experience and has been serving as president and CEO since 1994.

As recently announced, in 2019 Bank of Geneva will be merging with Farmers & Merchants State Bank, Archbold, Ohio, at which time Briggs will become the highest-ranking banking officer in the state of Indiana for Farmers & Merchants State Bank.

Briggs serves as chairman of the Northeast Indiana Regional Development Authority and as treasurer of the Adams County Economic Development Corp., in addition to numerous other capacities in the community.

Other 2019 IBA officers are:

  • First Vice Chair Lucas White, The Fountain Trust Company, Covington
  • Second Vice Chair Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington
  • Immediate Past Chair Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper
  • President and CEO – Amber R. Van Til, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis