White elected 2020 chair of Indiana Bankers

Lucas White (left), incoming chair of the Indiana Bankers Association for 2020, accepts the leadership gavel from Andrew J. Briggs, 2019 IBA chair.

Lucas White, president of The Fountain Trust Company, Covington, Ind., has been elected 2020 chair of the board of the Indiana Bankers Association.

The election took place on Sept. 16 at the IBA  Annual Convention in French Lick, Ind. White currently serves as first vice chairman and will become chairman effective Jan. 1, 2020.

White is a director of the Independent Community Bankers of America and chairman of the ICBA Bank Services Committee. He has served the IBA as past president of the Future Leadership Division and on the IBA board in the capacity of FLD president, as well as second vice chairman. 

A practicing attorney, he has a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University and a law degree from the Indiana University Maurer School of Law at Bloomington. He he has completed the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was a 2015 BankBeat Rising Stars in Banking honoree. He joined The Fountain Trust Company in 1994 as a part-time teller.

Also elected as officers of the 2020 IBA board of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2020, were:

  • First Vice Chair Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington
  • Second Vice Chair Garry D. Kleer, First Bank Richmond
  • Immediate Past Chair Andrew J. Briggs, Farmers & Merchants State Bank, Archbold, Ohio
  • President and CEO Amber R. Van Til, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis