Wisconsin Bankers Association elects Werner chairman

2018-2019 WBA Officers
2018-2019 Wisconsin Bankers Association Officers, from left: Vice Chair Paul Kohler, Charter Bank, Eau Claire; Past Chair Cynthia Erdman, Partnership Bank, Tomah; Chair Dave Werner, Park Bank, Milwaukee; Chair-Elect Mark Meloy, First Business Bank, Madison; and WBA President and CEO Rose Oswald Poels, WBA, Madison.

David P. Werner, president and CEO of Park Bank, Milwaukee, has been elected to serve as the 2018-2019 chair of the Wisconsin Bankers Association.

Werner’s career in banking started with a college internship at West Allis State Bank. His 30-year career in banking spans operations and management, commercial lending, and other financing options for small and medium-sized businesses.

Since joining Park Bank in 1989 as a commercial banker, Werner has progressively held the positions of vice president, first vice president, senior vice president and market manager. In 2010, he was appointed president and in early 2014 was given the additional title of CEO.

He serves on multiple boards, including the Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Foundation, the Greater Milwaukee Committee, Junior Achievement of Wisconsin, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce and Mount Mary University board of trustees. He is also a guest speaker for Marquette University’s MBA and banking programs on the topics of entrepreneurism, business management and banking operations.

Born and raised in the Milwaukee area, Werner has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Also serving as officers on the WBA Board are: Chair-Elect Mark Meloy, CEO of First Business Bank, Madison; Vice Chair Paul Kohler, president and CEO of Charter Bank, Eau Claire; and Past Chair Cynthia Erdman, president of Partnership Bank, Tomah.

Joining the board for three-year terms are: Donna Hoppenjan, president and CEO of Mound City Bank, Platteville; Gerald H. Jacobson, president, Northwestern Bank, Chippewa Falls; Daniel J. Peterson, president and CEO, The Stephenson National Bank & Trust, Marinette; and Thomas A. Reil, president, Waldo State Bank.

Those continuing their terms on the board are: Christopher Del Moral-Niles, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Associated Bank, Green Bay; Sang Kim, Wisconsin regional president, BMO Harris Bank, Milwaukee; Scott Kopp, president and CEO, Bank of Galesville; Mark Mohr, president and CEO, First Bank Financial Centre, Oconomowoc; Marty Reinhart, president and CEO, Heritage Bank, Spencer; Ken Thompson, president and CEO, Capitol Bank, Madison; Scot Thompson, president and CEO, Denmark State Bank; and Tom Van Pelt, president and CEO, Citizens State Bank, Hudson.