Federal Home Loan Banks announce 2023 director elections

Federal Home Loan Banks in Chicago, Des Moines and Indianapolis recently announced the results of their 2023 director elections. The directors will all serve four-year terms starting on Jan. 1. 

FHLBank Des Moines elected three member directors, including Iowa Superintendent of Banking Jeff Plagge, a director at Spencer, Iowa-based Northwest Bank; Robert Vogel, board chair at Minnesota’s New Market Bank; and Joe Kesler, a director at Missoula-based First Montana Bank. 

FHLBank Des Moines also appointed three independent directors, including Cleon Butterfield, senior vice president and CFO at West Valley City-based Utah Housing Corp.; Lisa Stange, a strategic advisor with Boise, Idaho-based Clearwater Analytics; Retired First Interstate BancSystems CEO Ed Garding of Billings, Mont.; and retired investment management executive Amy Johnson of Minnetonka, Minn.  

Last month, FHLBank Chicago members reelected Director David Loundy, chair and CEO of Chicago-based Devon Bank; and elected Director Ken Thompson, president and CEO of Madison, Wis.-based Capitol Bank. For three independent director seats, FHLBank Chicago elected Kathy Burns, executive chair and independent board member for risk management technology company Aclaimant; and reelected social entrepreneur Phyllis Lockett and Lois Alison Scott, president at Chicago-based Epoch Advisors.

Also last month, Indianapolis FHLBank members elected two Michigan-based public interest independent directors, including Anika Goss-Foster, CEO at nonprofit Detroit Future City; and Glenn Wilson, president and CEO of Flint-based nonprofit Communities First, Inc. Indianapolis FHLBank also appointed two Michigan member directors, including Auburn Hills-based Genisys Credit Union President and CEO Jackie Buchanan and Peg Lamb, chief risk officer at Southfield-based People Driven Credit Union.