Former Nebraska banker takes school reins

A prominent Nebraska financial leader over the past 30 years, the latest chapter in Jeff Schmid’s career could be his most consequential one: Developing the next generation of banking leaders as president and CEO of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University’s Cox School of Business — the same school he graduated from in 1990. [Continue]

Oxford Bank Corporation succession plan announced

Michigan-based Oxford Bank Corporation announced that Senior Vice President and CFO Richard Miller will retire next year. As part of a succession plan, Oxford Bank appointed Jesse Deering as EVP and CFO, effective June 20, 2022. Miller has served as SVP & CFO since September 2017.  Oxford Bank Chair, President and CEO David Lamb said … Read more

UMB Bank promotes 2 senior leaders

Kansas City, Mo.-based UMB Financial Corp. promoted Dominic Karaba to president of commercial banking and Uma Wilson to chief information and product officer. Both have decades of experience in banking and financial services. Karaba has more than 27 years of experience in business banking. He has been with UMB since 2013. Karaba has a bachelor’s … Read more

Reliabank adds Homan to board of directors

Estelline, S.D.-based Reliabank added Dr. Pam Homan to its board of directors. Homan was previously the superintendent of the Sioux Falls School District and is currently the chief strategy officer and executive vice president at Augustana University, Sioux Falls. She received her undergraduate and master’s degrees from Augustana University and her doctorate from the University … Read more

One Community Bank promotes Schraeder to VP

Oregon, Wis.-based One Community Bank promoted Carrie Schraeder to vice president, retail banking manager. Schraeder has been in banking for 20 years and has served in leadership positions for most of that time. She joined One Community Bank in May 2020. “I feel very fortunate to work at OCB,” she noted. “I have enjoyed building … Read more

Michigan’s First National Bank & Trust names Kassin president

Iron Mountain, Mich.-based First National Bank & Trust announced that Russell Kassin has been named president as the bank transitions its leadership. Kassin succeeds David Kashian as the 10th president in the bank’s 135-year history. Kashian, who has been president since 2005, will continue to serve as chair and CEO until next year. Kassin, who … Read more

The Bank of New Glarus names Johnson VP

Wisconsin-based The Bank of New Glarus hired Julie Johnson as vice president ag/commercial lender.  Johnson has more than 26 years of experience in banking, a majority of which in lending. She spent the last 30 years in the Evansville/Broadhead, Wis., area.  “The addition of Julie Johnson is a profound one for The Bank of New … Read more

Smeby named Bell Bank VP/commercial banker

Matt Smeby joined Fargo, N.D.-based Bell Bank as vice president/commercial banker for its LPO serving the Denver area. Smeby began his banking career in 2010 as a credit analyst and has more than a dozen years of experience in commercial lending. He received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Carroll College, Helena, Mont., and … Read more

Peoples State Bank names Brown senior VP

Wausau, Wis.-based Peoples State Bank hired Jessica Brown, CPA, as senior vice president and CFO. Brown will also serve as CFO and secretary of Peoples State Bank’s holding company, PSB Holdings, Inc. She has more than 25 years of experience as a CPA, nearly all in banking. Brown, who recently served as CFO for a … Read more