Indiana Bankers Association appoints chair

2023 IBA Chairman Jamie R. Shinabarger (left) receives the chairman’s gavel from 2022 Chairman Garry D. Kleer at the Indiana Bankers Association’s 2022 Annual Convention in French Lick, Ind.

Jasper-based Springs Valley Bank & Trust President and CEO Jamie Shinabarger has been elected the 2023 chair of the Indiana Bankers Association

Shinabarger, who currently serves as the IBA’s first vice chair, was elected Sept. 12 during the IBA’s annual convention in French Lick. He will assume his new role on Jan. 1. 

Shinaberger has worked at Springs Valley since 2008. He has a bachelor’s degree from Taylor University, Upland, Ind., and an MBA from Indiana Wesleyan University, Marion. He has a certification of completion in executive education from The Ohio State College of Business.

Other 2023 IBA officers include: 

  • First Vice Chair Benjamin Bechnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster
  • Second Vice Chair Matthew Howrey, North Salem State Bank
  • Immediate Past Chair Garry Kleer, First Bank Richmond 
  • Indiana Bankers Association Constituent Directors President and CEO Amber Van Til